|
|

CEMETERY
INDEXES (La Crosse County)
Except for the Mormon Coulee Memorial
Park Cemetery, the Archives has indexes of La Crosse County
cemeteries both in paper at the library and online in our searchable
web database at lacrosselibrary.org/genealogy.
Volunteers from the La Crosse Area Genealogy Society have given
the library this data to share with others researching their family
history in La Crosse. Cemetery histories, county history and historical
map images of La Crosse County are also available from this link.
The Archives also has printed lists for Jackson and Juneau counties, Wisconsin;
and Olmsted and Winona counties, Minnesota. We also have a microfiche index for
Monroe County, WI.
Return
to Top
|
COUNTY
HISTORIES & BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES
While we have many Wisconsin county histories and
biographical sketches, we have chosen to list only those counties
geographically close to La Crosse County. To search our full
holdings, consult the library
catalog.
Wisconsin county and biographical histories we have include Buffalo
(1888, 1892,
1919 & 1993); Crawford (1884 & 1932); Jackson (1891 & 1984); Juneau
(1892 & 1988); La Crosse (1881, 1892 & 1907); Monroe (1892, 1912, 1976 & 1984);
Pepin (1919 & 1985), Richland (1884, 1906 & 1986), Trempealeau (1892 & 1917);
and Vernon (1884, 1907 & 1994).
Many of our Wisconsin county histories are on microfilm as part of a series "County
Histories of the Old Northwest." Some available full text at La
Crosse History
Unbound.
Other area Minnesota counties include: Houston (1882, 1919 & 1982); Olmsted
(1883); and Winona (1913). Iowa county and biographical histories include: Allamakee
(1882) and Winneshiek (1882 & 1913).
|
CENSUS
We
also have a subscription to Ancestry Library Edition, the library
version of Ancestry.com
and to HeritageQuest.
|
| County |
Dates |
| Colonial States--Federal Census |
1790 |
| Wisconsin--Federal Census |
1850*,
1860, 1870*,
1880#, 1900#,
1910, 1920#, 1930
* denotes printed index
# denotes Soundex microfilm index |
| Wisconsin--State Census |
1855*, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905#
* denotes printed index
# denotes microfilm index (La Crosse
Co. only) |
| Wisconsin--Territorial Census |
1836*, 1838*,
1840*, 1842*,
1846, 1847
* denotes printed index |
Minnesota--Federal Census
Houston County
Winona County |
1850*, 1860*,
1870*, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920
1870*, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930
* denotes printed index |
Minnesota--State Census
Houston County
Winona County |
1865, 1875, 1885, 1895, 1905
1885 |
|
|
CITY & COUNTY
DIRECTORIES
|
The
Archives has La Crosse city directories from 1866 to the present.
The directories were published every other year until 1961 when
the publishing cycle changed to every year. Wives' names were added
in 1922. The following city directories include La Crosse County
rural route lists: 1893, 1895,
1932-1969.
Our holdings of La Crosse County directories are: 1901, 1906, 1940, 1945, 1950,
1955, 1961, 1964, 1966, 1968, 1971, 1974, 1976, 1979, 1984. Today's city directory
includes many outlying areas of La Crosse. In 1940 coverage of the City of Onalaska
was added to the La Crosse city directory.
|
LOCAL
NEWSPAPERS -- Published in La Crosse County
We have microfilmed newspapers published in the city of La Crosse from 1853 to
the present. The newspaper dates listed indicate our holdings in general. However,
there may be some missing issues especially with pre-1900 newspapers. Please
call, write or email if you have a specific date you'd like us to confirm.
|
| Place
of Publication & Titles |
Dates |
Bangor
Independent
|
1888-1970
(LOTS of pre-1927 issues missing) |
Holmen
Holmen Courier
Holmen Times
Town & Country Courier
|
1989-present
1946-1952
1979-1988 |
La Crosse
Chronicle
Daily Republican
Democrat
La Crosse Tribune
Republican & Leader |
1878-1912
1859-1860;1866-1870
1853-1854;1861-1868
1904-present
1871-1903 |
Onalaska
Onalaska Community Life
Onalaska-Holmen Record
Record Times (La Crosse Co. Record)
|
1989-1996; 1997-present
1983-2003
1885-1969 |
West Salem
Coulee News
La Crosse County Countryman
Non-Pareil
Journal
West Salem Journal
|
1997-present
1970-1996
1913-1945
1945-1970 |
LOCAL
NEWSPAPERS -- Other Counties
The newspaper dates listed indicate our holdings in general. However, there may
be some missing issues especially with pre-1900 newspapers. Please call, write
or email if you have a specific date you'd like us to confirm. |
| Place of
Publication & Titles |
Dates |
Houston County, MN
Hokah
Hokah Chief
Houston Co. Chief |
1882-1894
1927-1953
1894-1927
|
Jackson County, WI
Black River Falls
Badger State Banner
Jackson County Banner |
1868-1921
1861-1868 |
Monroe County, WI
Sparta
Democrat
Democrat Enterprise
Enterprise
Monroe County Democrat
Monroe County Republican
Sparta Democrat
Sparta Eagle |
1859
1885
1885
1879-1885;1895-1921
1876-1879
1885-1895
1862-1871 |
Trempealeau County, WI
Galesville
Independent
Galesville Republican
Trempealeau
Trempealeau County Record
Treampealeau Herald
Whitehall
Whitehall Times |
1876-1887
1897-1942
1860-1871
1895-1920
1876-1921 |
Vernon County, WI
Viroqua
Vernon County Censor |
1856-1921 |
MANUSCRIPTS & PUBLIC
RECORDS COLLECTIONS
The Archives has a number of manuscripts and public records available
for use. Please consult the library
catalog to search our full holdings.
Among the manuscript collections we have are the Daughters of Norway,
Deutscher
Verein, Family & Children's Center, Gantert's Furniture Company, W. A. Roosevelt
Co., Y.M.C.A., Y.W.C.A., Red Cross, Parkinson & Dockendorff Architectural
Firm blueprints, Pamperin Cigar Co., La Crosse Rubber Mills (LaCrosse Footwear).
Most of the public records we have are city or municipal records: Commission
on Historic Sites; Council resolutions relating to Bridges, Streets & Alleys,
Police Dept., Fire Dept., Public Schools, and the like; Tax Records for the city
of La Crosse, Park Dept. records, Public Works Office; and Water & Waste
Water Utility to name the major series.
We also have the Town of Greenfield records (mainly tax assessments), and records
of the La Crosse Office of the U. S. Weather Bureau.
We also collect annual reports of local businesses and city and county government
offices. |
NEWSPAPER
INDEXES
Local Articles
We have been clipping local articles from the La Crosse Tribune since
1976, but have older articles on some topics arranged by subject. Since September
1990, we have also abstracted these local articles on computer. Topics of clipped
articles include La Crosse business & industry, city and county government,
La Crosse schools, and the like. You may access our newspaper
index online. Articles that appear in the index are clipped and available
in the library.
Obituaries & Other Genealogical Indexes
Through our online index you have access to our obituary
file and other online genealogical indexes. Obituary coverage is most complete
1904-1957; 1983-present, but you may find citations to older obituaries as well.
Births & marriages have been indexed from the local newspaper since 1987,
and divorces were added in 1992. If you'd like copies of obituaries, directions
for obtaining them are given on the search result screens from the online index.
|
PLAT
MAPS & BOOKS
Also have the Atlas State of Minnesota (1874)
|
| County |
Dates |
| Buffalo |
1877, 1896,
1964, 1966, 1973, 1978, 1982, 1983, 1986, 1989, 1993 |
| Jackson |
1946,
1953, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1979, 1985, 1988, 1991, 1994 |
| Juneau |
1964, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1980, 1982, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1995 |
| La
Crosse |
1906, 1913, 1931, 1948, 1955, 1960, 1965, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1978,
1981, 1983, 1984, 1987, 1991, 1995, 2000 |
| Monroe |
1897, 1948, 1959, 1974, 1977, 1980, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1994 |
| Pepin |
1877, 1896, 1978 |
| Richland |
1874, 1895, 1984 |
| Trempealeau |
1901, 1914, 1962, 1978, 1984, 1987, 1990, 1993 |
| Vernon |
1878, 1896,
1915, 1949, 1956, 1967, 1973, 1976, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1992,
1995 |
A city atlas
from 1898 and Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for the City of La Crosse
1884; and La Crosse & Onalaska 1887,
1891, 1906, 1944 and 1954 are also available.
Many of our Wisconsin plat books are on microfilm as part of a series "County
Histories of the Old Northwest." We also have many other types of maps of the
city of La Crosse and some of the Mississippi River as well. |
|
|
| VITAL
RECORDS INDEXES |
The Archives has the following indexes
on microfiche. These were produced by the State Bureau of Vital
Statistics:
Index to Wisconsin Deaths, pre-1907; 1959-1967; 1969-1991
Index to Wisconsin Marriages, pre-1907; 1973-1992
Index to Wisconsin Divorces, 1965-1983
Index to Wisconsin Births, pre-1907
Remember that it was not required by law until 1907 for counties in Wisconsin
to record births, marriages and deaths. Also check out our library's online
genealogical index to vital records published in the local newspaper!
|
|
|
| Place & School |
Year Published |
Bangor, La Crosse Co., WI
High School "Echo" |
1917, 1952-1955,
1997, 1999-present
|
Galesville, Trempealeau Co., WI
High School "Arrowhead" |
1922, 1923 |
Holmen,
La Crosse Co., WI
High School "Viking" |
1959, 1971,
1978, 1981, 1984, 1986-1992, 1996-1997, 2000-present |
La Crescent, Houston Co., MN
Middle & High School "Lance" |
1993-1997, 2000-present |
La Crosse, La Crosse Co., WI
High Schools
Aquinas (Catholic) "Trumpet"
Central "Booster"
Logan "Winneshiek"
Middle Schools
Aquinas (Catholic)
Lincoln
Logan
Longfellow
Post-Secondary
Univ. of Wisconsin-La Crosse
Viterbo Univ. "Imprints," "Cameo"
Western
Wisc. Technical College "La Tech" |
1930-present
(missing 1956, 1980, 1989, 1994)
1911-present
1929-present
1997-present
1967, 1968, 2001-present
1973, 1975-1977, 2001-present
1972, 1973, 1976, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1992-1994, 1996-present
1911-1989
1970-1984, 1986-1989, 1990, 1992
1966-1981
|
Onalaska, La Crosse Co., WI
High Schools
Onalaska "Aksalano"
Luther (Lutheran) "Shield"
Post-Secondary
La Crosse Co. School of Agriculture &
Domestic Economy "Agric" |
1959, 1971,
1972, 1975, 1978-1982, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2001-present
1967, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1972, 1978-1982, 1991-2000; 2002-present
1912, 1916, 1918-1921, 1923, 1924 |
Sparta, Monroe Co., WI
High School "Spartan"
Middle School "Hi-Lighter" |
1915, 1919, 1921, 1923, 1924, 1930
1939-1942, 1969, 1970 |
West Salem, La Crosse Co., WI
High Schools
West Salem "Spike," "Neshonoc"
Coulee Region Christian School "The Edge"
Middle
School |
1922, 1924, 1952, 1955, 1960, 1962, 1965-1968, 1971-1975, 1979, 1981,
1982, 2001-present
1992-present
2001-present |
| Last
updated: Feb. 2005 |
|
|